Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky

Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky
Anatomy #1
Published Janury 9th 2007 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads

Summary: Before this all happened, the closest I’d ever come to getting physical with a guy was playing the board game Operation. Okay, so maybe that sounds pathetic, but it’s not like there were any guys at my high school who I cared to share more than three words with, let alone my body.

Then I met Wes, a track star senior from across town. Maybe it was his soulful blue eyes, or maybe my hormones just started raging. Either way, I was hooked. And after a while, he was too. I couldn’t believe how intense my feelings became, or the fact that I was seeing—and touching—parts of the body I’d only read about in my Gray’s Anatomy textbook. You could say Wes and I experienced a lot of firsts together that spring. It was scary. It was fun. It was love.

And then came the fall.

Review: I love this book. This book touches on the subject of teenage love, long-distance relationships and of course: sex. We’ve all been there and I think that’s one of the aspects of why I immediately fell in love with this book: it’s relatable. A majority of the plot undoubtedly revolves around sex, but Snadowsky writes it in such a manner that it doesn’t turn you off. As the title suggests, Anatomy of a Boyfriend explores the male anatomy and the world of sex. Snadowsky approaches the topic realistically and it will help in learning more about the male anatomy and sex if you’re entering that stage in your life to adulthood.

Dom started off as a strong character who wants nothing more but to enter Medical school and is that girl that does Science Quiz for fun. Dom’s character may be a hit or a miss for some; seeing how she does get a little whiny and annoying at certain turns of the book (as teenage phases go) but I did find myself feeling for her.

The book itself is predictable. You know what’s going to happen from the first time she laid her eyes on Wes and gradually you just know the direction it’s gonna go. Although it is predictable, I didn’t find myself wanting to put it down at all. It’s like every other chick-lit book or movie: you know what’s going to happen but you just can’t help but root for the main character.

I adored this book a lot, although I did wish it was slightly longer to see how things played out after the ending. Anatomy of a Boyfriend is a book I would have loved to read at 16 when we’re all busy obsessing with boys and toying with the idea of sex.

Oh, and how cool is the cover?

DISCLAIMER: As mentioned earlier, this book does heavily mention sex, so do make sure your parents are okay with you reading this book (if you’re younger!) / are comfortable with talk about sex.

One thought on “Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a Single Girl by Daria Snadowsky | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

