Anatomy of a Single Girl by Daria Snadowsky

Anatomy of a Single Girl by Daria Snadowsky
Anatomy #2
Published January 8th 2013 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads

Summary: After everything that happened—my first boyfriend, my first time, my first breakup—jumping back into the dating game seemed like the least healthy thing I could do. It’s not that I didn’t want to fall in love again, since that’s about the best feeling ever. But as a busy college premed still raw from heartbreak, which is the worst feeling ever, I figured I’d lie low for a while. Of course, as soon as I stopped looking for someone, an impossibly amazing—and devastatingly cute—guy came along, and I learned that having a new boyfriend is the quickest way to recover from losing your old one.

The moment we got together, all my preconceptions about romance and sex were turned upside down. I discovered physical and emotional firsts I never knew existed. I learned to let go of my past by living in the present. It was thrilling. It was hot. It was just what the doctor ordered.

But I couldn’t avoid my future forever.

In Daria Snadowsky’s daring follow-up to Anatomy of a Boyfriend, eighteen-year-old Dominique explores the relationship between love and lust, and the friendships that see us through

Review: If you recall, I previously spoke about how much I loved Anatomy of a Boyfriend. Sadly, the sequel, Anatomy of a Single Girl failed to please. While Anatomy of a Boyfriend shed light on first loves, and first sexual encounters, Anatomy of a Single Girl follows the aftermath of it all. The sequel is equally hilarious, fun and a super quick read as it’s processor but I found myself docking off points for several reasons.

Dom is now single – and as they say, she’s ready to mingle. Well, sort of. Dom is just like how she was in the previous book: she thinks too much, doesn’t give herself much credit and assesses the idea of love far more than she should be. Understandably, after her first encounter with ‘love’, it’s normal to build a fence around her. I felt that Dom didn’t seem to learn much from her previous relationship. She’s behaving in the same manner she did when she was with Wes in the first book: clingy and expectant. Dom and Guy’s relationship is more physical and sans love this time, unlike her relationship with Wes. The ‘boyfriend/girlfriend’ terminology was used briefly, and in that period Dom really pissed me off. She wasn’t really that understanding and acted a little bit like a brat when Guy couldn’t do this or that for her when he’d move the Earth and back for her if she asked.  I found her less likable after she discovered her sexual awakening of sorts, wanting and needing more from Dom. She became more antsy and was really annoying when she couldn’t get laid.

Dom’s reaction towards new relationships and purely physical relationships is understandable. I get it, we’ve all been there. But in relationship aspect of things, she’s still behaving like she was previously and didn’t seem to be that understanding of others when they were understanding and accepting of her decisions. Dom seemed more annoying in this book than the first and sadly while I did enjoy the story as a whole, I needed to force myself to finish it, rather than wanting to finish the book.

The book started off great, unfortunately, Dom didn’t seem to grow on me as she did in the previous book. And I didn’t find her doing anything in particular that showed her growth as an individual or in all her relationships.

All in all, Anatomy of Single Girl disappointed slightly in comparison to it’s first book, but is still an overall good book. I’m curious to see if Snadowsky will be writing a third book in the series given the ending but otherwise, I’d be keen in picking up another Daria Snadowsky book.

One thought on “Anatomy of a Single Girl by Daria Snadowsky

  1. Pingback: Sometimes people give the library free books… | Oh, Hi!

Leave a Reply

