The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker

The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker
The Liar Society #1
Published March 1st 2011 by Sourcebooks Fire
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads

Summary: Kate Lowry didn’t think dead best friends could send e-mails. But when she gets an e-mail from Grace, she’s not so sure.

To: KateLowry@pemberlybrown.edu
Sent: Sun 9/14 11:59 PM
From: GraceLee@pemberlybrown.edu
Subject: (no subject)

Kate,
I’m here…
sort of.
Find Cameron.
He knows.
I shouldn’t be writing.
Don’t tell.
They’ll hurt you.

Now Kate has no choice but to prove once and for all that Grace’s death was more than just a tragic accident. But secrets haunt the halls of her elite private school. Secrets people will do anything to protect. Even if it means getting rid of the girl trying to solve a murder.

Review: The Liar Society was one of those books where I wasn’t sure if I enjoyed it or not. The Liar Society had such great potential which an amazing premise but it fell a little short for me.

The beginning of the book was a bit hard for me to get into, with it being quite slow and not particularly engaging though I am glad I powered through the book. The content/plot of the book was really good once you see past the less than stellar secondary characters. I thoroughly enjoyed how the secret societies were intertwined and developed throughout the books. It maintained that sense of eliteness and secrecy throughout which made finding out more about it really interesting.

The main character, Kate was a protagonist that I enjoyed. I really liked following her around the campus and you could feel how much Kate really loved Grace. In that aspect, it made her real and a character that I really felt for and rooted for. I also loved her red-headed neighbour Seth, who is in love with Kate and worshiped the ground she walked on. He was such a great side-kick and I loved how their friendship grew as they went on their missions together.

One major problem I had with this book was all the filler characters. They were not interesting and lacked a certain charisma. I didn’t really care for these characters, namely Cameron who was quite under developed. He doesn’t make an appearance again until much later, where he disappears again. I also had a problem with Kate’s parents who seemingly have her on lock down but make sporadic appearances only when she gets into trouble. Maybe it’s just me but I thought that it was strange for parents who are worried for their children to just leave them like that cause they’re busy. Not sure how much impact Taylor, Bethany and Maddie played a part in the entire book. They’re seen as the mean girls up till the end where their ‘real’ characters come forth.

I’d have to say, despite this it is only the first installment of the series so it is unlikely for us to see immediate character development till much later in the series. I’m still keen to pick up the rest of the series because the secret society intrigued me a lot. Hopefully the second and third book will be even better.

One thought on “The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker

  1. Pingback: Library Haul | 08/12/13 | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

