Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin
Rachel & Darcy #1
Published June 1st 2004 by St Martin’s Press
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads

Summary: Something Borrowed tells the story of Rachel, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. Rachel has always been the consummate good girl—until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend, Darcy, throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiancé.

Although she wakes up determined to put the one-night fling behind her, Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for the one guy she should run from. As the September wedding date nears, Rachel knows she has to make a choice. In doing so, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat, and sometimes you have to risk all to win true happiness.

Something Borrowed is a phenomenal debut novel that will have you laughing, crying, and calling your best friend.

Review: I should begin by saying that I don’t read much chick lit, so perhaps I am not the target audience. Nevertheless, I gave it a shot and read it cover to cover. To be honest, I don’t know how I feel about this book. I liked it but at the same time I hated it – and all for the same reason: it hit too close to home.

I’m sure we’ve all met a Darcy before: that perfect, beautiful cover girl. The lucky girl, always gets whatever she wants, whenever she wants. That girl that lives in the moment. Personally, I know a Darcy, so I fully understand what Rachel is going through. I wanted to see Darcy fail, mostly because I’m a lot like Rachel (personality-wise) and I can’t stand how everything is about her. And maybe that’s the main reason why I kept reading: in anticipation of seeing Darcy fail. Is that a bad reason? Maybe…

The main premise of this book is essentially about infidelity so without it, the book really has no plot. I know many people would say that it’s a book about friendship or finding “the one” but I find that it could have been solved from the start.Had Dexter not proposed to Darcy and asked Rachel out from the get go (seeing how they were friends way before Dexter met Darcy), all of this could have been avoided.

So did I enjoy the book?

Well, I’m on the fence. I’m not on Rachel’s side, by any means. She is still the other woman but I do give her credit for understanding what being the other woman entails. For the most part, I would think that it paints a somewhat accurate picture of what being the other woman is like. I did appreciate that about Rachel but at the back of my mind I can’t help but not like her because she is still the other woman. It didn’t matter that the other woman was annoying ol’ Darcy, because no matter what Dexter is still her fiancé.

I’m conflicted about how I feel about these two characters especially at the end. I did watch the movie before the book so I kind of knew what would happen, though it did happen a little differently and both times I don’t know how I felt.

On a whole, the book was okay for me. It does remain true to the chick lit genre I suppose. A lot of it was really draggy and it didn’t help that I’m so muddled with feelings.

I’d say if you haven’t read it, watch the movie instead. Bonus point: John Krasinski. I’m still contemplating if I’ll read the sequel. Maybe… maybe not. We’ll see.

One thought on “Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

  1. Pingback: Library Haul | 08/12/13 | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

