The Fault in Our Stars By John Green

The Fault In Our Stars By John Green
Published Jan 10th 2012 by Dutton Books
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads

Summary: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis.

But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

 

Review: OK, I’m late to the party but this book is worth the hype. The Fault In Our Stars is not a cancer book. It is sad, but it isn’t about people struggling or dying. It’s about fighting, living and being.

Going in, I was worried that this would be difficult to read. I’ve never finished a John Green book, so I’m surprised how easy it was to read this book and I think I’m starting to understand why it’s kept so clean and simple.

The book discusses about the real issues of having cancer but beyond that, it touches on friendships, relationships and living life the way you should. It was realistic in a lot of ways, and I appreciated that about this book. I really loved Hazel and Augustus and I loved the other characters in the book, especially Isaac.

This was a beautiful book and I don’t think any amount of praise I give it will do the book justice. I cried, a lot. I read and re-read and I cried more. What really hit home is how they lived their lives, despite having cancer. Living life to the fullest. Loving to the very last breath. It is that simplicity, that I truly appreciated.

This is one of the best books I’ve read this year and I’m so glad I finally picked it up. It left me so emotionally attached to the characters that I cried and felt for them. I highly recommend this book if you’ve not read it yet. And if you’re hesitant because of his prior works, or fear that it will be too sad (it will be – at least for me), trust me you’ll still want to give this a shot.

One thought on “The Fault in Our Stars By John Green

  1. Pingback: Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green | Dawn of books

Leave a Reply

