The Juliette Society By Sasha Grey

The Juliette Society By Sasha Grey
Published May 14th 2013 by Sphere
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads

Summary: In her debut erotic novel, Sasha Grey takes us inside a private, high-profile, sex society where anything and everything can happen.

Catherine, a blossoming film student whose sexuality has been recently stirred, finds herself drawn into a secret club where the world’s most powerful people meet to explore their deepest, often darkest sexual fantasies. Even as it opens up new avenues to pleasure, it also threatens to destroy everything that Catherine holds dear.

From bathroom stalls in dive bars, to private jets over St. Tropez, Catherine takes the reader with her through a sexual awakening and psychological development, unparalleled in contemporary erotica.

Review: This book is an erotica, so please pick it up at your own digression.

I wasn’t sure how I would like this book, considering the only other erotica I’ve read is 50 shades of grey and I hated it. I didn’t hate it then because it was an erotica, but simply because it lacked a storyline or likable characters. I picked this book up simply because it was Sasha Grey, so I thought she’d know her stuff better. And also because I like the cover *shallow*

Admittedly, I liked it a lot better than I thought it would. I’m not sure if this was ghostwritten or otherwise, but regardless it was written well. The Juliette Society is an erotica, but it’s not that simple. It’s about this strange society that exists for people with different fetishes and interests. It deals with feelings, thoughts well and developed rather well throughout the book.

I enjoyed how it progressed especially towards the end where there were some interesting revelations and strange twists. I don’t read much erotica so I’m not sure what they’re like but The Juliette Society seemed like a breath of fresh air. While there were sexual content, I liked that it wasn’t so heavy such that there was no plot or progress. Some bits made me a little comfortable but it all boils down to personal preferences and tolerance.

Strangely, the parties reminded me a lot of party from The Great Gatsby which made me enjoy it quite a bit. I’d say this was a pleasant surprise and it was readable (for me at least). As I rarely (or rather, this is my second foray) venture into erotica, my expectations are low. For me, this much was enough.

Leave a Reply

