Dash & Lily’s Book Of Dares By David Levithan & Rachel Cohn

Dash & Lily’s Book Of Dares By David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
Published Oct 26th 2010 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads

Summary: “I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Review: Let me first begin by saying that I have read several David Levithan books and am a fan of his work. When it comes to Christmas time books, this is one of them. It’s usually hyped up around this time of the year and generally well-hyped (I’m just making words up now)

I, unfortunately, didn’t get the hype. While I liked it, I was also left somewhat disappointed. I wanted more, I expected more and maybe that’s why I tend to stay away from hyped books just in case expectations are not met.

The plot itself was very interesting. It was something different from most contemporaries. The concept of leaving clues and written notes to someone you don’t know in a bookstore sounds amazing. The book was mostly plot-driven and a lot of it was because of the notebook. Up till the part where they met, it was fantastic and after that I felt less and less. The magic was over. The jig is up.

I didn’t find either characters particularly memorable – Dash being that snarky grouchy type and Lily being the girl that likes Christmas too much. Between the two, Dash made more of an interesting character because he was snarky and there was a sort of ‘persona’/character to him. Lily was little boring and gets annoying at times with her over-enthusiasm about everything.

The book alternates between Dash & Lily’s perspective so my feelings towards Lily didn’t help the cause and her chapters seemed so draggy and boring that I started finding it tough to pull through.

I didn’t particularly liked the way Dash & Lily met. It felt a little odd and out of place like they could have met in better circumstances. As fiction goes, some parts of the book are unbelievable – one being the whole thing that happened in the park.

It was a little disappointing but I did like it, just not as much as everyone else and as much as I hoped I would have been.

Leave a Reply

