Confessions of a Hater By Caprice Crane

Confessions of a Hater By Caprice Crane
Published Aug 27th 2013 by Feiwel & Friends
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads

Summary: Mean girls are always the haters – Right?

Hailey Harper has always felt invisible. Now her dad has a new job and the family is moving to Hollywood. Just what Hailey needs: starting a new high school.

As she’s packing, Hailey finds a journal that belonged to her older sister, Noel, who is away at college. Called “How to Be a Hater,” it’s full of info Hailey can really use. Has Hailey found the Bible of Coolness? Will it help her reinvent herself at her new school? Will her crush notice her? Will she and the other Invisibles dethrone the popular mean girls? After all, they deserve it. Don’t they?

Caprice Crane’s funny–and deeply felt–observations about high school, bullies, popularity, friendship, and romance will leave teens thinking…and talking.

Review: I absolutely adored this book. I must admit, I initially picked this book up because of it’s cover but after reading the synopsis I was sold. I have never read Caprice Crane’s adult books and this is her first young adult novel and I must say it was a hilarious read.

The book itself was hilarious. One of the blurbs put it aptly, it sounded like it was written by one of my friends. I really loved how up-to-date it was with all the latest social media sites and familiar songs. It allowed me to greatly resonate with Hailey because of the similarities.

The plot was really interesting. It reminded me a lot of the movie Mean Girls, except the Burn Book is actually a guide to help you become a “hater” (which essentially is what popular girls are). The main character Hailey had a lot of spunk. She was different than most protagonists and I loved how she refused to conform to what popularity should be.

One of the main things I truly enjoyed was the relationships in the book. From friendships to relationships and even within the family, it all brought out a different dynamic to the story. I loved the friendship between Hailey and the girls and how they developed together and depended on each other for support. I also loved that the book was the reason for Hailey and Noel to rekindle their estranged relationship with each other.

One of the things I didn’t particularly enjoy was towards the end, when Hailey decided to self-destruct. I don’t truly understand why she decided to do that what everything was seemingly fixed. It felt like she created the problem, just for the sake of it and not because there was a particular reason that truly provoked her.

In that retrospect, the book dragged on a lot longer than it should have. It felt that the impact of her self-destruction was very minimal to the story and in some ways took the spark away from the book.

Overall, Confessions of a Hater was a surprise. It was an easy funny read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

