Blue Is The Warmest Colour By Julie Maroh

Blue Is The Warmest Colour By Julie Maroh
Published Sept 3rd 2013 by Arsenal Pulp Press
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads

Summary: Originally published in French as Le bleu est une couleur chaude, Blue is the Warmest Color is a graphic novel about growing up, falling in love, and coming out. Clementine is a junior in high school who seems average enough: she has friends, family, and the romantic attention of the boys in her school. When her openly gay best friend takes her out on the town, she wanders into a lesbian bar where she encounters Emma: a punkish, confident girl with blue hair. Their attraction is instant and electric, and Clementine find herself in a relationship that will test her friends, parents, and her own ideas about herself and her identity.

First published in French by Belgium’s Glénat, the book has won several awards, including the Audience Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival, Europe’s largest. The film Blue Is the Warmest Color won the Palme d’Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival.

Julie Maroh is an author and illustrator originally from northern France.

Review: This book…. I loved this book. Blue Is The Warmest Colour was originally written in French and later translated into English. It is also one of the best graphic novels I have read so far. Most of the graphic novels I’ve read are well, X-Men and I’m not going to deny it, I love them. I’ve read very few graphic novels that centers around original stories or memoirs, so this was a surprisingly excellent book.

I have to admit, I wasn’t too crazy about it early on. It was confusing for me and I had to re-read some of the pages a couple of times before I understood it. The story text were in cursive fonts, which made it harder for me to read on my iPad, but that’s just me — I can’t read cursive (well). The illustrations wasn’t brilliant, but they weren’t bad either. They were somewhere in between of simple and intricate.

What really caught me later on was the story. Clementine’s voice and story really tugged on my heartstrings. My heart ached, I wept and I fell in love. Clementine’s coming out story really touched me. The fact that she came out at such a difficult time where it LGBT was even more unacceptable made me feel for her more and root for her happiness.

Clementine’s love story was beautiful. And I highly recommend everyone to give it a go. Even if you’re not fond of graphic novels, this one is worth the shot for the story itself.

Leave a Reply

