April Wrap Up

 photo apwrpup12_zpscc4c1b01.png
Psi Another Day By D. R. Rosensteel • One Broke Girl By Rhonda Helms • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before By Jenny Han
 photo apwpup2_zps633853ce.png
Rich Kids of Instagram By The Creator of Rich Kids of Instagram & Maya Sloan Starstruck By Nicole Ciacchella • The Isobel Journal By Isobel Harrop

 photo aprwrp3_zpsb16b9b98.png

Rebel Belle By Rachel Hawkins • Love, Lex By Avery Aster

I received (advanced) review copies of The Isobel Journal, Starstruck, Rich Kids of Instagram and Psi Another Day c/o the publishers via Netgalley. I received advanced review copies of Love, Lex and One Broke Girl c/o of the publisher via Xpresso Book Tours.

This month was a pretty good reading month for me. I am typically a very slow reader and usually read about 2-3 books per month. However, for the month of April, I decided to participate in Hot Key Books’ #papervspixels challenge. I am proud to say that I stuck with my goal of reading solely on my iPad/Kindle for the entire month of April! I read a total of 8 books, 100% read on my iPad, which is more than what I usually read on a regular month. I had some personal emergency to attend to this month, so I’m surprised I still managed to rack up this much of reading.

If you’ve noticed, a good majority of the books were books I received from publishers through Netgalley & Xpresso Reads; in a way the need to review gave me the motivation to push through the books. I’m really happy with the books I’ve read this month; I enjoyed a good majority of the books and gave a number of 4/5 stars this month! I read several New Adult books, which are a little out of my comfort zone but I’m happy to announce that I did enjoy some of them.

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I headed to a massive book sale at a convention hall and managed to rack up a total of $91 dollars at a bookstore. I bought a whooping sum of 9 books (in which I aggressively raided through boxes of books and stalking people holding books I wanted hoping they would put it back (they did)) so you can look forward to a May Book Haul post soon!

I’m currently reading The Opposite of LonelinessThe Husband’s Secret and Love Letters To The Dead, all of which I put aside to read all the review copies I received. I’m really looking forward to finishing all of these books in the month of May. I’ve heard nothing but great things about The Opposite of Loneliness and Love Letters to the Dead. It so happens that the books are non fiction/essays, adult fiction and young adult which is really showing of how much I’ve begun to branch out. I’m trying to read more non fiction (they’re interesting but I somehow always get tired?) and more adult books (look at me branching out) as I go along to expand the type of things I’m exposed to.

I don’t usually stick to a to be read, but I’m hoping I can also add Wonder by R. J. Palacio and Lolita to the pile of books for May. I’ve made a list of books I want to push higher up the list of 2348917312 books I still have yet to read, so lets hope I get through some of it.

Leave a Reply

