The Girl In 6E By Alessandra Torre

The Girl In 6E By Alessandra Torre
Published April 17th 2013 by Alessandra Torre
(Originally named On Me, In Me and Dead Beneath Me).

Disclaimer: This book contains sexual references and explicit sexual scenes. Reader discretion is advised.

Goodreads

SummaryMy life, inside this apartment is simple. It works, as long as I follow the rules.

1. Don’t leave the apartment. Not in case of fire, not to mail a letter, not to run an errand. The door stays shut, and I stay inside.
2. Don’t get attached to clients. I take off my clothes, I stand in front of the camera, and I perform. What they want, I give. Their secrets, I keep. Everything I tell them, is a lie.
3. Don’t kill anyone. I’ve obeyed that rule for over three years.

My life, inside this apartment was simple, and it worked. Then, I started breaking rules.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

The Girl In 6E is a little different from what I normally read.

I don’t know what to categorize The Girl In 6E in. Is it erotic mystery or is it just mystery? Is there even such a thing as erotic mystery? Psychological thriller?

This book is definitely not for younger ones. There’s a lot of sex and very explicit scenes in it, that maybe even adults might find it a little much.

The main character, Deanna, also known as Jess is a cam girl; she is a Internet sex operator. Deanna is also the only one who survived when her mother decided to kill everyone in the family.

Deanna is a little hard to connect to on many levels. There were a lot of psychological issues with her, many of which flew right above my head. It is clear that she is very much affected by what happened to her family, which resulted in her lust for blood and a fear that she could end up killing if she wasn’t locked up. But there was just something about Deanna just didn’t click with me. Her job as an Internet sex operator was her way of coping: it served as a way for her to interact with people without them knowing anything about her or even bothered to find out. She uses sex as a form of transaction for comfort and release and a method of survival.

The story is told in short chapters, which are easy to fly through but they’re told in what seemed like odd perspectives. We learn about Deanna’s clients and later the book is told in Jeremy’s POV, her nosy mailman. Interestingly enough we learn about Anna and her at her birthday party.

I was really confused right after that, wondering how this little girl could fit into the story at midpoints. It felt a little misplaced to me. But I later learnt why and the importance of learning about her and the people she surrounds herself with.

The book was interesting and it was a fuse of erotica and psychology which was something different and new to me. I liked seeing how these two very different topics came together and the added element of thriller came into play very well.

I devoured this book so quickly, it’s quick and easy to read despite the psychology behind it and definitely picked up past the halfway point though the ending was rather weak. For the amount of blood lust that Deanna had, it would seem like she would make her chances count. It felt like all the action had built up to nothing.  Overall, it is a good book; it is interesting and its really easy to read because of its short chapters. Worth picking up if you’re into psychological thrillers with a twist.

 photo 3star_zpsb2dce710.png

One thought on “The Girl In 6E By Alessandra Torre

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

