Yours Truly, Taddy By Avery Aster

Yours Truly, Taddy By Avery Aster
The Undergrad Years #2
Published April 15th 2014

Disclaimer: I received a review copy c/o Giselle from Xpresso Reads. 

Goodreads

SummaryJetting to Martinique for a modeling assignment with three of Europe’s hottest magazine photographers—Gustave, Fabian, and Leon—should’ve been easy, breezy beautiful. Never did I expect to look up and see a hole in the ceiling of our plane that was bigger in size than my Birkin bag.

Shit! We’re nose-diving toward Eden Island. I pictured how my New York Times obituary might read when I’m gone, “Taddy Brill, Manhattanite, dethroned descendant of the Austrian House of Brillford royalty, dies at age eighteen, penniless, unloved, and a virgin.” I swear this crap only happens to me. Suddenly, Leon pulls me with Fabian and Gustave. Adrenaline racing through me, our bodies clung as one. We prepared to…crash. 

The Undergrad Years is a New Adult contemporary miniseries about first loves, independence, and everlasting friendships. 

Reader warning: Contains mature content intended for readers 17 and up.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

I thought Yours Truly, Taddy would be different from Love, Lex, but alas, it wasn’t.

(And I am not at all a fan of the cover. Why, oh, why!)

It’s safe to say that I did enjoy Yours Truly, Taddy a little bit more than Love, Lex. Having read Love, Lex, I’ve become somewhat accustomed to the way these characters behave and the way the book generally is. Suffice to say that I am not the target audience. It’s simply one of those it’s not you, it’s me books.

Taddy’s comes from a family that is rich but absent; the book focuses on her taking up a modeling job so she could pay for her tuition to go to University with her friends. What I liked about Taddy is that she’s somewhat humble. All she wants is the company of her best friends and she works hard for her money. Taddy was flying to her next shoot when the plane crashes and whisked her and her friends stranded in Eden (this fancy island that’s owned by a billionaire).

Here’s where the book becomes predictable: the losing of virginity, the imaginative mind, the inevitable sexual encounters. Love, Lex was of similar fashion. When it comes down to it, it was less personality; it was more sexual awakening.

I enjoy Avery Aster’s writing. She’s funny and has the ability to make her characters come to life. There’s no filter, when it comes to these group of friends. For me, it wasn’t the plot: it was the characters. I continued reading for the characters and not for the plot.

Unlike Love, Lex, Taddy underwent some character growth. She appreciated herself more and really embraced the friendship she’s built with her group of friends. At the end of the book, she sends a letter to the people who has helped her get back on her feet which really showed her growth and maturity.

Yours Truly, Taddy was certainly better than Love, Lex. Though predictable, it has its merits (Taddy being the better character and Aster’s writing) and I know many people seem to really enjoy the series.

 photo 25star_zps33ef13a8.png

One thought on “Yours Truly, Taddy By Avery Aster

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

