First Term at Malory Towers By Enid Blyton

First Term at Malory Towers By Enid Blyton
Malory Towers #1
Published Sept 1st 2006 by Egmont Books (UK) (originally published in 1946)

Goodreads

SummaryDarrell and her friends grow together as they share their school days. There are new students to induct, sporting matches to be won, tempers to control and tricks to play on teachers.

This work presents stories about life at boarding school as readers follow the girls’ lives through 6 years at Malory Towers.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

Oh Malory Towers, how I adore you so.

I’ve grown up reading Enid Blyton, and though I know of the issues when it comes to Blyton’s work I have to say I read Malory Towers without any of that in mind. I’ve never read Malory Towers before growing up, so this was fairly exciting for me. I’m a huge fan of boarding school books so naturally I went into this with a lot of expectations and Blyton delivered.

Malory Towers is a boarding school and it centers around a group of classmates in their first term at Malory Towers. It revolves namely around Darrell, Sally and Gwendoline who are the three new students at the school. They’re later met by other colourful characters such as Alicia, Jane and Mary-Lou.

I really loved the different characters in the book. I thought that the characters were very relatable even now despite it being written in 40’s. There’s a lot of snarky and sharp girls, mean girls, misunderstood girls and ones that are painfully shy.

There is a lot that happens in the first term: cliques, test of friendships, jealousy, revenge and pranks. Darrell and Mary-Lou, specifically were wonderful characters. I liked that Darrell was a strong character but at the same time she recognized her faults and corrected them without anyone asking/telling her to. She was one of the three characters that showed a lot of growth throughout the book. Mary-Lou went from someone lacking in confidence into a very bright character and is stronger than she was before.

Malory Towers is a good book, and having read it for the first time as an adult I can only imagine how useful this would have been in my childhood years. I’m excited to continue reading the series and see what the girls are up to next!

 photo fourstar_zps900cd6ef.png

One thought on “First Term at Malory Towers By Enid Blyton

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

