Everything Leads To You By Nina LaCour

Everything Leads To You By Nina LaCour
Published May 15th 2014 By Dutton Juvenille

Goodreads

SummaryA love letter to the craft and romance of film and fate in front of—and behind—the camera from the award-winning author ofHold Still.

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.

Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

If I could describe this book in a word it would be perfect.

I hadn’t expected to give this book five stars. I knew going in that I would love it, but I didn’t know I’d fall in love.

I’ve never read a Nina LaCour book and though I’ve been meaning to read The Disenchantments, this book caught my eye more. I fell in love with the cover but the fact that the main character is a lesbian caught my eye. I hadn’t read much lgbt books but I was glad that her being a lesbian isn’t the main focus.

I enjoyed reading about Emi and her life. She’s had a fairly good life: great family, great best friend but her only problem is her relationship with Morgan. I really loved how Emi ended up tackling this relationship; it wore her down but she found strength to say enough.

This book as a whole isn’t really about Emi. It does follow her day to day life, her work in the film industry and the works but it’s mostly about uncovering the mystery behind the letter they found. The fact that they were looking for this hidden granddaughter of a famous actor made it even more exciting.

I loved everything about this book and the writing was really good. The book was overall a great book and it was cool to read about the behind-the-scenes of a movie production. Heartwarming and easy to read, it is definitely a must-read contemporary of 2014.
“…but I could keep going forever, listing all my flaws in order from the most innocuous to the least. I am afraid of spiders… I fall in love too easily… I have fierce spells of self-doubt. Because in the conversation beneath this one, what we’re really saying is I am an imperfect person. Here are my failures. Do you want me anyway?”

I won a copy of Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour in a giveaway hosted by Lucy at The Reading Date. Thanks, Lucy!

 photo 5star_zps5460dcac.png

One thought on “Everything Leads To You By Nina LaCour

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

