Cameo By Tanille

Cameo By Tanille
Published Jun 6th 2014 By Fire Flies Entertainment

Goodreads

Disclaimer: I received a review copy c/o the Publisher via Netgalley.

Summary:

Nia is a high school beauty who discovers she is being stalked by a secret society. Everyone is suspect. Even the basketball star she’s been paired with for a senior project. The girl who thinks she knows everything finds out she knows nothing at all. The pressure is mounting and problems are stacking up. Who is behind this secret society? Why would they be after her?

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

When I requested this, I was intrigued by the premise of an underground society in schools. I’ve read a lot of secret society books, so naturally I got excited for this book. My mistake.

Everything from the plot to the writing was just bad. I hardly ever give a one-star rating — I’m really easy to please, so believe me when I say this was bad. I hate giving such negative reviews but this book just warrants it.

The book didn’t have a great start. Its prelude was 15 pages long (and it might as well just be the first chapter) and was too complicated from the get go. The transitions are so choppy from one scene to another that I had to read it twice. There’s just too much going on at the start and too confusing for me. The writing was juvenile at best; a lot of the conversations and descriptions just wasn’t necessary or made sense.

Page 6: “Lucy had a digital camera hanging from her wrist. The camera hung down lower than the hemline on her denim miniskirt.”

Page 31: “I was in the process of downloading all my CDs onto my mp3 player. I tried not to look at my picture wall when I was searching for my dazzling, superstar nightgown.”

I’m not sure if this was a final copy but I did find several mistakes (I didn’t note the page numbers) which I hope didn’t make into the final printing. Bad writing aside, the characters were so uninspiring. The fact that this “secret society” was just a ploy for revenge to be prom queen is just silly. It had potential to be interesting, but the flat characters and bad writing didn’t help.

I don’t understand why Nia is so aggressively angry all the time. I think the author tried her best to really emulate the way teenagers talk or behave but it was too much and seemed so juvenile. They didn’t do anything except care about prom or get angry at each other. There was just too much focus on other things that the development of the secret society really fell through. For the most part, revealing the true identity of Michelle in the prelude took away a lot of the development/mystery of the secret society.

I knew going in that this book had a song accompanying it, but I didn’t know that the product placement would be so obvious and blatant. The song is discussed all the time, its Nia’s favourite song and there’s so much talk about this Underground Starlet brand…

Tanille is a singer but a writer, she is not. Won’t be recommending this to anyone. Ever.
 photo 1star_zpsc4c0dc5f.png

One thought on “Cameo By Tanille

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

