The Innocent Assassins By Pema Donyo

The Innocent Assassins By Pema Donyo
Published June 24th 2014 By Astraea Press

Disclaimer: I received a review copy c/o the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads

Summary: There are three rules to staying an assassin at the corporation of Covert Operatives: (1) your parents must be deceased, (2) your contracts must remain confidential, and (3) you must be under the age of eighteen.

After a murder mission goes awry a month before her eighteenth birthday, Covert Operatives assassin Jane Lu finds herself caught by the federal government and forced to spy for the CIA while remaining in Covert Operatives. Once her spying mission is over she will be allowed to live a civilian life without facing criminal consequences, a life she’s only dreamed of having.

As Jane leaks information to the CIA, she uncovers secrets with enough power to both destroy Covert Operatives and her own boyfriend, Adrian King, who’s next in line to be CEO of the company. When her identity as a double agent for the CIA is discovered within Covert Operatives, she must decide where her allegiance, and her heart, truly lies.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

I absolutely adored The Innocent Assassins.

It is no secret that I love anything Nikita-esque, so its not surprise I jumped at the opportunity to review this book.

The Innocent Assassins is action-packed and extremely fast-paced that it keeps you turning pages from start to end. The Innocent Assassins revolves around Covert Operatives agent, Jane and her journey after a mission goes awry and is forced to double cross CO to work for the CIA.

If you’re familiar with the TV show Nikita, The Innocent Assassins is pretty similar to it. From the characteristics of the main characters Jane and Adrian, down to the way CO operates is pretty similar to that of Nikita. But that’s where the differences end. The Innocent Assassins does bear its own colour — it’s different enough to keep me in suspense and pull me in.

Of all the different assassin books I’ve read, I’d have to say this is one of my favourites and most memorable. I enjoyed the romance between Jane and Adrian but I also liked how the relationship played a part in the decision making for both characters. I liked that they were in love from the start and there wasn’t any insta-love. I really loved CO and the different weapons they produced and the classes they attended; it was all really fascinating even though it wasn’t really new.

In terms of writing, even though it was good, there were instances where I felt that the author explained too much and was a bit unnecessary.

“Silence descended for a few moments. It was pregnant silence, filled with recent events between us and all the words left unsaid”

/

“His face fell. Not literally, but something sunk in his features which only reminded me of falling.”

I’m also not a huge fan of Emma — I felt that the way she behaved was a little odd and even though it was explained, I didn’t feel like the reasoning behind it warranted the way she behaved. I appreciated that Lucy was a good friend and appeared several times throughout the book though her appearances didn’t really make an impact enough for me to care about her. The ending was a little bit rushed and I was hoping it would be a little bit longer but it was still a great ending.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Innocent Assassins. It was an impressive attempt to make something already done new and interesting. I’m hoping that there will be a sequel to this, because judging from the ending there is some unfinished business and I definitely need more Jane and Adrian!

 photo fourstar_zps900cd6ef.png

One thought on “The Innocent Assassins By Pema Donyo

Leave a Reply

