Lullabies By Lang Leav

Lullabies By Lang Leav
Publication Date: 16th Sept 2014 By Andrews McMeel Publishing

Goodreads

SummaryA sequel to the hugely popular, best-selling Love & MisadventureLullabies continues to explore the intricacies of love and loss.

Set to a musical theme, love’s poetic journey in this new, original collection begins with a Duet and travels through Interlude and Finale with an Encore popular piece from the best-selling Love & Misadventure. Lang Leav’s evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey.

Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world.

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist.

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

Lang Leav’s Love & Misadventure is one of my favourite poetry books of all time. I also had the opportunity to meet her last year at a book signing she did here. Imagine my surprise when I found limited copies of Lullabies on the shelves at the bookstore! I ran, I paid, and I read. Immediately.

I read it in a day and fell in love.

I own many poetry books but I find myself constantly going back to Lang’s poetry. One of my favourite things about her writing is that it is simple and succinct enough that it doesn’t take much to understand the poem. I love that no matter how simple it is, it really tugs at your heartstrings and pulls you in.

I really enjoy poetry, but often I find that it can be very difficult to understand what the author is trying to say. You’d have to sit and think and really analyse what’s written and why it was written the way it was — and it gets critical sometimes. But I find that Lang Leav’s work is simplistic enough that even someone who isn’t too familiar with poetry can enjoy.

Lullabies is much longer than Love & Misadventure, but it does keep to the same feel of love, desire, yearning and loss. There are some longer pieces in Lullabies, all of which were very interesting to read. The compilation of poetry in Lullabies is just as the name suggests — it is soothing enough to bring you to another place even for a short while.

I highly recommend Lang Leav’s works, especially if you’re someone who is just starting out to read poetry. I think that Lang’s work is very relatable and it captures different emotions very well. I’ve re-read her first collection of poems so many times and I’m very certain I will do the same with Lullabies.

 photo 5star_zps5460dcac.png

One thought on “Lullabies By Lang Leav

  1. Pingback: Sad Girls By Lang Leav | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

