Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher
Published 18 Oct 2007 By Razorbill

Goodreads

Summary: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.
 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

Thirteen Reasons Why is incredible, horrific and sad all in one.

I took my time finishing Thirteen Reasons Why. Thirteen Reasons Why was difficult to finish — not because it was terrible, but because the stories were painful. Thirteen Reasons Why is told through audiotapes made by Hannah Baker, a young girl who killed herself. And through these tapes, she tells thirteen stories of why she chose to kill herself.

I felt that reading it slowly helped me absorb the story better, that I could really experience what Clay was expeirencing and really feel his heartbreak. The story itself is fantastic. The problems were realistic, and in some cases, seemed so minor, but you later realize the gravity each of these problems hold. I loved how the story intertwined with each other, and how each of these people mentioned in the book played such an important part to the story.

I love Clay, and I love that he was a character that was described by Hannah to have had no fault, and yet, you could see so clearly how he played a huge part in Hannah’s death. Some of the stories really made me sick to my stomach, particularly Bryce, and I think that’s how Hannah (and the author) would have wanted you to feel.

I can definitely see myself re-reading this book in the future and recommending this to everyone I know. It’s certainly a book that is important and should be read by the masses. I truly believe that Thirteen Reasons Why can save lives and open our eyes to the serious consequences of our actions and words, even if we don’t think it’s that serious or meant it. I’d love to read this again in audiobook format where I’m sure the experience would be even more heart wrenching. Poignant and important, Thirteen Reasons Why is a definite must read.

 photo 5star_zps5460dcac.png

One thought on “Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher

  1. Pingback: Anti Bullying Week: #AntiBullyReads Wrap Up + Recommendations | pretty bookmarks

Leave a Reply

