The Wicked + The Divine Vol 1: The Faust Act By Kieron Gillen

The Wicked + The Divine Vol 1: The Faust Act (Issues #1-#5) By Kieron Gillen
Published 12 Nov 2014 by Image Comics

Disclaimer: I received a copy c/o the Publisher via Netgalley (through the ‘Read Now’ option).

Goodreads

Summary: Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead.

The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

Collects THE WICKED + THE DIVINE #1-5

 photo review_zps95cdca33.png

The Wicked + The Divine is really different than anything I’ve read before. It is exactly as the summary says — it’s about twelve gods who are powerful and worshiped, and how a click of their fingers can cause deadly destruction. It’s told through our main character, Laura’s POV. Laura is a huge fan of the gods, to the point where she wants to be one of them. She develops a relationship with Luci and later finds herself embroiled in trouble, biting off more than she can chew.

I really did enjoy The Wicked + The Divine. I do feel like it has a lot to offer and the storyline is definitely interesting. However, the beginning (and some other parts) were a little difficult for me to understand, making it hard for me to really enjoy the book until much later. The beginning arc I felt weren’t entirely explained and eventually kind of got lost in the whole mess of things going on — and trust me, there is A LOT that is going on. But I’m glad I pushed through and read on because the plot gets interesting and certainly a lot easier to digest once you familiarize yourself with everything.

Aside from the plot the graphics is absolutely divine. I loved the artwork and the colours used throughout and the covers, my goodness, are so beautiful. I’ve been curious about a The Wicked + The Divine for a while now, so I’m definitely glad I got to read this while it’s up on Netgalley. The edition available on Netgalley collects issues #1-#5 and is available through Read Now (at the time of writing). If you can get your hands on the first volume, I would say give it a try and don’t be discouraged if you get confused. It does get better, you just need a little patience to push through!

 photo fourstar_zps900cd6ef.png

Leave a Reply

