Anti Bullying Week: #AntiBullyReads Wrap Up + Recommendations

Anti Bullying Week has come and gone and no, I didn’t manage to read all five books. Typical. But, I did manage to read 2 of the 5 books in my TBR and on top of that an additional book the weekend before. I’m counting that. I really enjoyed myself through this read-a-thon and I’m so happy to have been a part of the Goodreads group and I’m certainly looking forward to next year’s #AntiBullyReads read-a-thon.

During the week of the read-a-thon I managed to read The S Word by Chelsea Pitcher and Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher, both very compelling books about bullying done in very different yet similar ways. During the weekend before I also read the graphic novel Smile By Raina Telgemier which showcased everyday bullying situations in school — and its middle grade, so even younger readers can pick it up.

But just because Anti Bullying Week is over doesn’t mean we should stop reading books about bullying. In fact, we should keep reading, keep discussing, keep talking about it because bullying is still a prominent issue in our current society and hopefully through read-a-thons like these we can educate more people and encourage those who require help seek them, and encourage one another to be part of the solution.

Prior to this, I’ve read many books about bullying, many of them have been especially painful for me to read. Several of my favourites have been reviewed on the blog, such as: Wonder by R. J. Palacio (which also includes Wonder: The Julian Chapter, which follows the POV of the bully), Some Girls Are By Courtney Summers and Tease By Amanda Maciel. Here are some other recommendations of books that involve bullying (you can find these books and more all in the #AntiBullyReads group page):

Divergent By Veronica Roth • The List By Siobhan Vivian • The Outsiders By S. E. Hinton • Burn for Burn By Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian By Sherman Alexie

Leave a Reply

